Everyone Has A Story!

19 May

A few Saturday mornings ago…I was sitting at my computer trying hard to ignore a very happy , a very talkative workman at my house.

…I heard him talking which is certainly not unusual for him. Though it seemed like a one-side conversation and with all this technology these days, people seem to be doing that. I was so hoping he was talking on the phone.  I was trying hard not to look in his direction and kept very silent.

BUT…

Ignoring him, not looking in his direction and staying silent was not working for me that day.  He (Michael) kept talking,  I soon realized, Michael, had a story to tell.

Still seated at my computer, I looked over at Michael now he was on all fours, laying a piece of canvas down on the floor.

The chatter in my brain was busy at work while looking at Michael. The inner voice kept saying, why is he bothering with the canvas? My house looks like a bomb exploded. I have boxes stacked to the ceiling, beds striped and leaning against bedroom walls.  Kitchen cabinets empty, furniture bubbled wrapped and staged in the front of the house…In other words, a huge pile of  a hot mess!

Trust me on this one, a little more dirt tracked in my house from the bottoms of someone’s shoes was not going to be noticed.

I’m sure you’ve lived this visual at least once in your life.

AND..

Michael still on his hands and knees, half in and half out of the house, now had my full attention He was telling me how he once had dogs like mine and how they reminded him of a terrible tragedy in his life.

In 2002 his whole family died in a house fire, his wife (high school sweetheart), a son (4 1/2) and a daughter (3 1/2).

I said nothing, he had a story to tell…

He was away on a boys hunting trip for just a few days. His wife had decided she and the kids would stay with her parents at their home (thinking life would be a little easier). The trip was a success and Michael was returning home but had a later departure than originally planned. He talked with his family on the drive home. A snow storm was moving in and Michael needed to get up very early the next morning to plow driveways (his second business). So the decision was made his family would stay at his in-laws for one more night. His son wanted him to pick him up on his way home but Michael said, “No, stay with mommy, I have to get up very early to plow driveways in the morning.”

A few hours later…He received the call.

Apparently, everyone had at one point made it outside but they went back in the house not knowing everyone had made it out.

His son was found dead crouched down between the toilet and the sink.

His daughter dead under her bed and his wife in the bathroom with her son.

They all died of smoke inhalation.

What Michael was told, when the bathroom  window was opened, it created a backdraft, making the whole house go up in minutes.

The house fire was started by his son who had found his grandmothers cigarette lighter.

My only question to Michael, how, how do you move on from such an awful, painful tragedy?

“Well” he said,

“I threw myself in to my dogs and after a little over a year, I made a decision, I could either stay in pain and in darkness hating God or fill my life with hope, happiness and love.”

He eventually met a wonderful woman who already had a couple of daughters, they married and had two more daughters.

Michael said, “I work long hard days with very little time off for one reason, to provide everything for my four children and for my wife’… “I am filled with gratitude” Michael said, to be able to do what I do for them. Their happiness is my happiness!

I said, Michael, you are a true inspiration regarding living life….My mother would say, “Life is for the living.” And he is certainly living those words.

Michael’s story has forever change my life, strengthening my belief in the human spirit. The desire for love, happiness and joy is far stronger than hate, misery and darkness !

I am filled with gratitude that a happy man, who was on his hands and knees, laying out canvas to protect my already dirty floors, didn’t allow my silence, to silence his story!

God works in mysterious ways!

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Everyone Has A Story!”

  1. Vanessa Pasiadis May 19, 2014 at 10:21 am #

    Amazing, lovely, inspiring story! Thank you! You are amazing! Vanessa

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • asklotta May 19, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words! I feel the same way about you Vanessa!!!!

  2. LIZ May 19, 2014 at 12:27 pm #

    Oh my gosh! Amazing. You stopped, decided to love (God’s kind), and gave him the gift of listening. And who was the winner is that scenario? YOU! Incredible blog today, Lotta! Thank you!

    • asklotta May 19, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

      Thank YOU Liz! You have been a great source/example of “the gift of listening” for me and all the blessings that follow because of it…xo

Leave a Reply

