Breathe and Marley!

30 Sep

Friday’s with Marley…

I arrived home on Sunday from a health and fitness awareness retreat in New Hampshire called Breathe. In one weekend I regained my sense of well-being, pushed my physical outer-limits and fed my soul with inspiration.

…Marley greeted me at the front door, jumping, wiggling and barking loudly. I could feel my well-being slipping to the ground as fast as I would on an unsalted winter sidewalk.

Marley, how are you? What’s going on? And why are you pacing like a caged animal?
I had so many questions and I feared very few sensible answers would come my way.

Trying hard to distract her I say, Marley, do you want to hear about my mind-blowing weekend? I had such a wonderful time.

Nope she barked.

I had the good sense to ignore her and started to share my amazing life changing weekend, hoping she would calm down by the time I finished…..
I started telling her about the all day hike, summit two peaks in one day, climbed treacherous rocks to wedge myself through small cavities to get through caves that were magnificent (scary) and definitely a must see in ones life. I continued on enthusiastically about an outdoors spinning class…

Marley interrupted and I knew at this point there was no distracting her, she was like a dog on a bone! Clearly she was going to ignore my happy and calming tones.

Well she begins with a loud exhale…”I was far too busy to even think about my soul much-less feed it…I mean, I only had time to feed my stomach!”

…Marley, I didn’t actually mean…Oh never mind….So tell me, what were you so busy doing????

She stops pacing, sticks her nose up in the air and says, “I was busy sending out emails to friends with information that I knew they already had”.
Yep she continues, I find that to be a great marketing strategy to keep my name in their “inbox”

I’m not understanding?

Why do you think it’s important to have your name in your friends’ inbox…? It sounds so ridiculous and a huge waste of time to me…..There is something I’m definitely missing about this story or certainly missing key pieces!

AND…

…Having to ask, but I know will dread the answer…

…What are you marketing?
Well, she lays down and snorts…”I haven’t decided what I’m marketing as of yet, but when I do, the strategy will already be in place and then I won’t have to work… Yep, efficient and phenomenal.”

I looked at her as she snuggled downed into her cozy comforter and as she started to nod off into her dreams, I realized, there is no making sense of crazy.

I went upstairs, started to unpack, and feeling pure unfiltered joy and happiness ( remembering all the most wonderful pieces and parts of the weekend)…And I knew…
While there will always be crazy living on the outside, happiness is nurtured and sustained on the inside!

IMG_1915

4 Responses to “Breathe and Marley!”

  1. Matt On Accident October 2, 2015 at 11:16 pm #

    Just here for my ‘Fridays with Marley’ fix!❤️☺️

    • asklotta October 4, 2015 at 10:44 pm #

      Haha! You are the best!

      • Matt On Accident October 4, 2015 at 10:55 pm #

        I wrote a limerick titled ‘Fridays with Marley.’ I think you’ll like it.

      • asklotta October 5, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

        OMG I haven’t read it yet but I already adore it!!!!!

Leave a Reply

