American’s Personal Space!

1 Aug

Just returned home after being away (traveling) for about two weeks. A friend of mine has a great saying..”It’s always wonderful to travel but it’s always so good to return home.” And that is exactly how I feel in this moment in time!

I was in and out of several different airports and planes….

…AND…

It finally occurred to me why traveling has become so stressful to so many…

Not only have airports turned into one big fast food shopping mart with loud music and bright flashing lights, imitating the streets of Broadway…

But more importantly, it goes against everything Americans believe in…

For example…

Americans love their invisible personal space. You know what I’m talking about, that well known amount of space between you and everyone else. The majority of people know that proper/comfortable distance (not too close or too far). I hate it when someone is talking to me and stands too close. I start to back up, desperately trying to rescue my personal space.  And as I keep backing up, they keep moving forward, seeming oblivious to the reason why someone would walk backwards while talking…AND…God forbid I can actually feel the heat of their breath as they speak, much-less smell it., Disguising and super UCK X2.

Also…

Americans love to pretend other people don’t exist. Again, don’t play stupid with me…You know you ignore everyone in that Starbuck’s line in the morning and certainly on city buses/subways, and at your gym.

Plus…

Americans are not born into a cast system (no royals) though it could be argued America’s royals are movie stars (Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie) along with sport figures (Lebron James and Kevin Durant) just to mention a few.

And, as I sat on the plane, in my seat, for the final leg of my travels, it finally dawned on me…

…what the whole stress thing is about…Airlines throw strangers into small/limiting room forcing the break-down of personal space, mandating people to sit too close (touching body parts) needing to interact (talk) with strangers, as well as needing to tolerate the most annoying smells and habits of the masses with no possibility of escaping for hours!

And the final stress breaker is the “Cast System” of loading a plane. There are the privilege (Gold Medallion, First Class, Zone 1) that receives privileges that include (but far from limiting) a walk on a different carpet before boarding.

And as you stand with a $700 ticket in hand waiting for the privilege of being treated like a farm animal, almost giving the impression you’re in a scene from the movie Titanic.

But with all that said,

…If my plane takes off and lands safely I’m filled with gratitude which always includes a smile and a thank you to the pilots and flight attendants for a job well done!

P.S. Just a suggestion to ensure a less stressful travel day for so many, please don’t forget to shower before going to the airport along with double dosing the deodorant  :)!…I’m just saying!

Happy Trials Everyone…

8 Responses to “American’s Personal Space!”

  1. Charlotte August 1, 2014 at 12:55 pm #

    “And as you stand with a $700 ticket in hand waiting for the privilege of being treated like a farm animal, almost giving the impression you’re in a scene from the movie Titanic.” -haha! well said!

    • asklotta August 1, 2014 at 3:39 pm #

      Thank you so much! And it’s true!

  2. LIZ August 1, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

    …and once I’m in my seat, carefully avoiding eye contact with others because they are already too close, and often literally touching me with their arms and legs (gross!), I’ll find my own space and get comfortable with it —

    then, without warning, as I’m slowly drifting off (with my earplugs in, of course), that special person behind me decides to get up and grab the back of my seat with his vise grip claws and yank my head back about a foot. Ahhhh, travel… but it’s worth every little frustration…

    XOXO Liz

    • asklotta August 1, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

      Hahahah how could I have forgotten the “vise grip” dragging the top half of your body to a horizontal position! The airlines really do an amazing job, it just doesn’t provide enough personal space! LOL

  3. Holistic Wayfarer August 3, 2014 at 11:21 pm #

    I think you were right on with the list on Americans. Curious, did you mean happy trails?

    • asklotta August 4, 2014 at 12:24 pm #

      Thank you for your visit and your comment…Happy trials was my attempt for a weak pun!

      • Holistic Wayfarer August 4, 2014 at 3:03 pm #

        I did ask w/ uncertainty (not intending to correct) because I thought that might have been the case. =)

      • asklotta August 4, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

        Actually, it made me happy knowing you did in deed read the whole post! So appreciative!

Leave a Reply

