Birthdays!

25 Jun

My son celebrated his birthday last weekend which brings to an end our birthday season….And it got me thinking.

Hmmm

In the past..I never understood why some adults made such a big deal out of birthdays, their own, and even to people they barely knew. It’s not like that birthday person did anything especially heroic to be born (wasn’t even their choice) or has solved any of the world’s big problems (cure for cancer, world peace)

And then, (as always), my thoughts started to wander about the whole cosmic birthday thing…

I thought…Why do some people love their birthdays and others would rather take that day off the calendar?

Are birthdays all about age? Are we just checking off one more year from the living calendar?

Are birthdays the annual (anniversary) reminder of happy and/or sad yesteryears?

Maybe for some, birthdays are filled with unattainable expectations of birthday grangers? Trying to fill a bottomless childhood emotion?

OR…

…Is it something different?

AND…

…Is it supposed  to be something different?

As I get older I hear my sweet, brilliant and beautiful mother’s words play over in my head, she would say, “There is more to old age than gray hair and wrinkles.”

AND…

Once again this post provides me yet another opportunity to say, Mom I love you and you are correct, as always XXOO!

…As I run, jump and skip through life’s birthdays, I’ve discovered, birthdays are not a time to take stock in life’s happy milestones or sad failures (that’s for the day after) but  a time to celebrate relationships (we are all connected). And age (birthdays) gives us the opportunity to know this!

I’ve discovered…

…It’s not about being center of attention or about the gifts!…Though I do L O V E the Godiva Chocolates my sister gives me every year :)!

BUT instead,

Birthdays are an opportunity to connect and reconnect with family, friends and yes even with strangers…It’s a day of opportunities, to go out of your way to pepper even more kindness into the world, to bring people together and to celebrate love, friendships and hopeful new beginnings, regardless of age!

God gives us a gift every year, it’s called a birthday…

…Humbly and filled with gratitude, I thank you God, for gracing my son and daughters this year with your generous and precious gift of another birthday!

Amen

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Birthdays!”

  1. Charlotte June 25, 2014 at 3:19 pm #

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

