The ATT Rodeo!

12 Jun

I’m in AT&T Hell….

What is it with the Communication Companies? Their business culture must be, torture and fail at all cost!

A land-line was suppose to be working on June 5th and by June 11th still no service.

One would think getting a new land-line in my new home from AT&T would be a no brainer…I would think something they could do in their sleep, so to speak. I ask you, are they not a phone company? It’s not like I’m asking a veterinarian to install phone service, or asking AT&T to cure my sick dog.

So what could be the problem?

I DO NOT KNOW      I DO NOT KNOW      I DO NOT KNOW

And not to mention (but of course I will) AT&T has been a phone company since 1875

“AT&T’s roots stretch back to 1875, with founder Alexander Graham Bell’s invention of the telephone. During the 19th century, AT&T became the parent company of the Bell System, the American telephone monopoly.”

One would think by now AT&T would know how this whole phone thing works. I have a hard time believing this would be a difficult task for such a company.

BUT YET IT IS      BUT YET IT IS      BUT YET IT IS

Finally by Tuesday, June 10th (no phone service) I was on the phone with AT&T for over an hour or rather more actually stated, I was on-hold with AT&T. If I wasn’t on-hold, I was giving information to the “automation person” that wanted to serve me better. From then on, I got transferred from department to department with wait times of over 20 minutes a piece, only to be told I wasn’t in the correct depart and they couldn’t help me. Then reaching Nadia in customer service (AT&T customer service should be renamed, customer frustration) who said she would like to help me but it is almost quitting time and she would call me back the next day.

INNER-PEACE     INNER-PEACE      INNER-PEACE

By 11:00 AM on Wednesday, June 11th no call from Nadia so again I jumped into the AT&T rodeo; after 25 minutes on hold, I hung up.

I tried going on-line as one of the “automation person” suggested for faster service.

Image

Hmmm “The Troubleshoot & Resolve system is currently down.” Again, if AT&T’s mission is to torture and fail, I would say they can count this experience as a huge success, spot on AT&T!

IS THIS A JOKE      IS THIS A JOKE      IS THIS A JOKE

I called back again, this time in the afternoon around 3:00 PM with a wait time of only 17 minutes and thankfully landed with Bill who got me through to a very wonderful Gerald, who made my house ring with a flip of a switch!

YIPPEE     YIPPEE      YIPPEE

It took me 6-days, 3-calls, about 2-hours on-hold, several wrong departments, 1-representative named Nadia to not call me back after she said she would, 1-failed on-line attempt,1-representative named Bill, 1-representative named Gerald, a call back from Gerald to get a land-line turned on.

I NEED A MARTINI      I NEED A MARTINI      I NEED A MARTINI

Thank you Bill and Gerald!

Personally I think Bill and Gerald is AT&T’s customer suicide prevention hotline!

If I could have used a string and a can, trust me, I would have!

4 Responses to “The ATT Rodeo!”

  1. gardengirl92 June 19, 2014 at 2:03 pm #

    I love that! Not your frustration, but the whole experience is so typical. I haven’t been able to get online since yesterday so I finally broke down and called the phone company(who we have our internet service through) and was promptly put on hold. Luckily, I resolved the issue myself while I was waiting for them and got to hang up on their message thanking me for my patience! 🙂 Glad you finally got phone service. 🙂

    • asklotta June 19, 2014 at 4:04 pm #

      Happy you were able to figure things out! I just don’t ever remember phone service, land-lines and cell Companies being so difficult. Just wondering if this is a reflection of American companies not wanting to hire more employees and spend money on training them.

      • gardengirl92 June 19, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

        Well, I have no idea. I just know to expect it. I just usually let my husband handle that. He’s very intimidating when he wants to be. 😉

      • asklotta June 20, 2014 at 10:12 am #

        :)!

Leave a Reply

