Aside

The Stench!

9 Apr

An early start to last Saturday but nothing unusual about that, I love mornings! So peaceful and calm, the day filled with so may wonderful possibilities…..

I was lucky enough to have married a man who also loves starting his day early…Our routine is coffee, gym and then a stop at our favorite bistro for an another cup of coffee with a side of catching-up with friends. Our place is a second generation Italian owned bistro. As soon as you walk in, you’re family!

With smiles and morning salutations I am at my oh so familiar coffee station (self-serve). I’m chatting it up with the people behind the counter and then I notice a man hovering around the coffee area. There was plenty of space for me to get my coffee so I moved in a little closer. But then an awful cigarette stench hit me, like a two by four to my face. And trust me on this one, NO ONE smells like that in this bistro. I then took  a better look at this man. I noticed he looked a bit out of place and a bit confused/uncomfortable. I asked if I could help?

He said, “I’m from the hood, I’m looking for powered cream.”

Well…..

…I said, “they don’t have any powdered cream but the cream here is really delicious.”

I showed him where it was and then showed him which containers had the regular coffee and which container held the decaf. Trying to make him more at ease, I continued to familiarize him with the coffee set-up but yet he remained very distracted repeating the words “I don’t want to miss my bus” (as he kept looking over his right shoulder.)

He helped himself to half regular and half decaf with some cream and sugar, then he asked me, where he should pay?

…I said “Go, don’t miss your bus, it’s my treat.”

With his right hand in the peace symbol shape, he pounds his chest twice, kisses his his two peace fingers and throws it at me with a smile on his face.

I immediately returned the gesture…

Some would say I did a kind act for someone last Saturday morning.

But I wouldn’t agree!

Last Saturday, I bought myself an all-day smile for just $2.00.

I would say money well spent on myself!

…I hope my new friend returns soon!

p.s. He didn’t miss his bus!

2 Responses to “The Stench!”

  1. LIZ April 10, 2014 at 11:15 am #

    Wonderful Saturday morning, Lotta!

    • asklotta April 11, 2014 at 11:59 am #

      Thanks my friend, it was! I wish you were posting more! It’s such fun tracking your travels!!!

Leave a Reply

