Cold and Homeless!

31 Jan

About two weeks ago I sat in my car in front of a lovely restaurant in town waiting for my “take-out” dinner. 

Just a second I need to back-up even further…

My husband was out of town and I decided I wanted an early dinner from this lovely restaurant that I enjoy going to. I took it even a step further, (lazier) and thought if there wasn’t a parking place available right in front of the restaurant I will keep driving because I do not even feel like walking a little for my dinner tonight…Far too cold and windy!

Well, lord and behold a fine parking space right in front of my restaurant. Yippee, I thought, God is taking such good care of me, far too cold to be out and about!

I called in my order from my cell phone, still not needing to brave the elements as my ass sat in my warm car (music playing). I was told it would be about 15 minutes. I sang “no problem.” 

I played words with friends, talked with friends and then decided to look at all my amazing stocks on an app I downloaded several weeks before. I was adding up all the plus columns, thinking such happy thoughts, quite proud of myself for buying more shares of twitter before it hit 50… When a homeless man knocks on my window. I froze, trust me not because of the cold.

I hear “I’m not going to rob you, I just need a little money for a hot meal and to get to the men’s homeless shelter for tonight”. His lips and face were about three if not four different shades of color ranging from light to dark. He didn’t have gloves or a hat and his coat was certainly nothing I would have considered warm enough for such a winter night. I lowered my window a little and he continued, “I’m not going to buy drugs, I just need a hot meal and to get to the men’s shelter for a bed tonight”. 

I grabbed my purse, pulled out my wallet and handed him $20…By his reaction you would have thought I just gave him the keys to heaven.

AND….

…Then it occurred to me, God wasn’t taking care of me on that cold night, he was taking care of the homeless man…

Do I know for sure drugs were not bought that night, no! But I do know everyone comes into our life for a reason and God works in very mysterious ways!

 

4 Responses to “Cold and Homeless!”

  1. Ann gross January 31, 2014 at 11:39 pm #

    What a wonderful story

  2. thelostkerryman February 1, 2014 at 3:49 am #

    Yes, there are many divine appointments in our lives that look like coincidence

    • asklotta February 1, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

      Isn’t it amazing…divine coincidences! So beautiful and powerful.

Leave a Reply

