“The Holy Spirit Is In My Pocket”

26 Jan

“Does anyone want the Holy Spirit because it’s in my pocket” I hear from the backseat….

What?

“I have the Holy Spirit in my pocket, does anyone want it?” 

I turn my head back to look at my three grown children in the backseat of our car as we are pulling out of the Church’s parking lot.

and SHE

…pulls out the communion host (wafer) from her front pocket.

Her brother yells…”I can’t believe it, I can’t believe it”…”What are you crazy?” “Why didn’t you just put it in your mouth? I’ve never known anyone to do this…This is sacrilegist!” 

SHE says…

…”Welll it’s flu season and the priest had it in his hands and I didn’t want to get sick.

 Trying so hard not to laugh at everyone and everything in the backseat while at the exact same time trying really hard not to offend God on Christmas Eve…I reach back extending my hand to accept the backseat communion offering and place it respectfully in my mouth. 

….AND after days of smiling and a lot of laughter well into January, it occurred to me, SHE did have the Holy Spirit in her pocket! 

Thanksgiving for all answered prayers!

 

6 Responses to ““The Holy Spirit Is In My Pocket””

  1. Charlotte January 26, 2014 at 8:50 pm #

    HAHAHA I’m laughing! what a great memory!

    • asklotta January 26, 2014 at 8:57 pm #

      I’m still laughing too! XO

  2. Maddie Cochere January 26, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

    What a wonderful story! Funny and with blessings, too. 🙂

    • asklotta January 27, 2014 at 12:57 pm #

      Thank you so much! 🙂

  3. Liz T. January 27, 2014 at 2:03 am #

    Great story!

Leave a Reply

