The Art in Moving On!

23 Apr

Dear Readers….

I’m baaaaack! Well at least occasionally I will be.

It is amazing what a heart felt apology can do. To say out loud “but that was no excuse…I was disrespectful….I am very sorry for my behavior.” without a BUT…

Please read on…

“Out of respect for the ongoing legal situation, I cannot comment on everything that is being reported right now. But I do want to say I clearly had one drink too many and I am deeply embarrassed about the things I said. It was definitely a scary situation and I was frightened for my husband, but that was no excuse. I was disrespectful to the officer who was just doing his job. The words I used that night definitely do not reflect who I am. I have nothing but respect for the police and I am very sorry for my behavior.”
-Reese Witherspoon

What ended up front and in my face with Reese Witherspoons heart felt apology and full accountability (no excuses).. was a huge…WOW! In time I will never remember what she did but I will always remember what a really really good person she is. That is called truly moving on and leaving your past behind!

When you step up to the plate to take full responsibility for your unacceptable behavior and blame no one but yourself…it has miraculous healing powers for all but especially for you. It is a pure moment, an opportunity for much happiness and joy for yourself, not only in the moment but for your future!

“Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future” -Oscar Wilde

But instead…

…If your the kind of person that spins lies, blame others and has more excuses than my step-son has sneakers regarding your bad behavior then you are the kind of person who will forever live in darkness by your own doing!

“Excuses are like assho$es, they all stink” -Me

Stay safe everyone!

14 Responses to “The Art in Moving On!”

  1. t April 23, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    Perfect. Thanks for the reminder, and thanks for coming back home =)

  2. Nancy April 23, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    I’m so glad you’re back! Your positive spin to a negative situation has once again started my day with renewed hope for humanity.

    • asklotta April 23, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

      Thank you my friend for putting a smile on my face!

  3. Charlotte @ Commitness to Fitness April 23, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    Excuses are like assholes, they all stink! amen. but you know, some people say “armpits” instead of assholes… but you’re right I like the word assholes better too.

    • asklotta April 23, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      Hahaha…”you say potato and I say potaatoo”

  4. Liz Tippit April 23, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    Hi Lotta —

    What a nice surprise to hear from Asklotta today! Great entry…
    And remember — houseguests, like fish, stink after 3 days. So said a wise person I know!!! XOXO

    • asklotta April 23, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      Hahaha…Sooooo TRUE! Tee hee hee…Loads of thanks!

  5. Lucas J. Draeger April 29, 2013 at 3:31 am #

    Yo Lotta!

    • asklotta April 29, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      Right back at you my friend!

  6. Linda Alexander April 29, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    Well, you got me on this one. For quite awhile, I thought the apology to the police was coming from you. I was thinking as I read, “I have never known you to be a heavy drinker!” Welcome back!

    • asklotta April 29, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

      Hahahaha! If I may jog your memory…I wasn’t the one driving!!!

  7. Lisa @ Lisa the Vegetarian April 29, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    I think it’s great that Reese Witherspoon apologized for what she did. It does show that she can take responsibility and everyone can hopefully move on from there.

    • asklotta May 1, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

      It certainly is the beginning and in my book the only correct beginning for moving on with bad/hurtful behavior.

Leave a Reply

