FedEx And The Christmas Miracle!

15 Jan
Dear Readers,
 
I am off and running!
 
After three unsuccessful attempts for FedEx to deliver a package to my home (signature required, damn it) I had no choice but to go off and find the FedEx holding facility in Richfield, OH. Given today was the last day FedEx would hold on to my package before the dreaded back to sender.  So off I drove to the FedEx holding faculty, which come to find out is 31 miles from my home.
 
I was under a time crunch because I had a million and one things to do before leaving for a funeral in Detroit. Uncle Bill had a timely departure, he was well into his 80’s with some health issues but with all that said it was still somewhat untimely for me.
 
I had MapQuest directions, printed them up and now they lay on the seat next to me. Before leaving my garage I had in-put the address into my car’s GPS, confidently I drove out of my driveway. For those who know me, directions and confidence should never be in the same sentence.
 
While driving I must confess I was complaining to myself about how inefficient I thought FedEx was at this very moment. I was whining about all the things I had to do and this whole process just seemed ridiculous. They can send a man/woman to the moon but FedEx can’t figure out how to deliver a package when no one is home. You know what I’m talking about; you all have done the same thing a million times before. In the process of doing something, the playlist playing in your head is a list of complaints, injustices and annoyances, making new wave music sound mellow.
 
I took a moment to notice….
 
Today the sun was actually shining in Cleveland (a miracle); a chilly 26 degrees while ordering myself to stop complaining. Purposely reshuffling the playlist in my head and created a complete new list of music one of enjoyment, to help create a more joyful moment. I started to have fun wondering what layed ahead of me, who was going to cross my path and add something positive to my life…
 
AND…it happened…
 
The First Miracle: I didn’t get lost! This goes down in the history books! 
 
The Second Miracle: once inside the huge FedEx building, (which by the way, the street address is my son’s name) the appropriate person went to retrieve my package from the holding room (no mishaps). While waiting for my package I had the most interesting conversation with a gentleman name Abraham. A slender man with kind eyes and a smile that I still can see in my mind’s eye even seven hours later.
 
He said to me “All is good, I’m going home.”
I responded, you’re a lucky man, going home makes you happy, there are many who cannot say the same thing.
Being a little curious I asked, what are your days like if you work all night.
He said, “today I will take a nap then I’m going to play the ponies.”
 
Now this is where the conversation got interesting…
 
He said, “The ponies have done me well. As soon as I’m $60 up I go home. But the young guys don’t play the ponies because it takes patience and some figuring out.” He said, “The young guys do not know how to figure things out anymore.” He continued, “kids will do what is asked but nothing more and if things do not go exactly as planed, they can’t figure it out.”
His wife he said (a retired educator) feels the kids today are in an awful way. Parents over-schedule, prevents struggles/consequences and over empowers children at an early age by handing over control/decisions. He said in his church they now pray for parents as well as children.
 
We walked out together into the parking lot, sun still shinning, package now under my arm. Thrilled for my adventure to FedEx and for my meeting with Abraham… We bid each other goodbye and as I glanced back to see Abraham one more time (squinting in the sun) I wished him good luck, and with a smile on his face he waved his final goodbye!
 
The Third Miracle: As I traveled to my family function in Detroit, again I’m off and running, and in a moment of peace, it accrued to me, by the time my son gets this package, a late xmas gift for one reason or another (certainly not planned this way) it will be January 6, the 12th day of Christmas when the Three Wise Men arrived in Bethlehem and presented their gifts of Gold, Frankincense and Myrrh (FedEx package) to Jesus.
 
 
January 6 – the Epiphany – Epiphany is derived from the Greek epiphaneia and means manifestation or to appear. In a religious context, the term describes the appearance of an invisible divine being in a visible form. – University of Kansas Medical Center, Diversity Calendar
 
 
I now feel this was no mishap or inefficient process or behind the times technology by FedEx…Having to travel to the FedEx storage facility with the street address the same name as my son (especially me traveling) …. was a true Christmas miracle! I had been waiting for this moment since the holidays began…My Christmas miracle arrived and all I had to do was change my playlist in my head and allow it to happen.
 
Asklotta and Staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today in complete amazement of miracles!
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
Image 
 
 
 
 

12 Responses to “FedEx And The Christmas Miracle!”

  1. janethesub January 15, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    All I can say is “WOW!!!” 🙂

    • asklotta January 15, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

      I know, I know WOW! I think this stuff happens everyday and we are just too self-absorbed/blinded in our oh so important lives to see! Thanks for the WOW!

  2. Liz T. January 15, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

    And another WOW! Great Christmas miracle!

    I can’t help thinking of 2 other Abrahams. One, Abraham of the scriptures who lived out his trust in God. And Abraham Lincoln, who, referring to the Bible, said, “All the good the Saviour gave to the world was communicated through this book. But for it we could not know right from wrong. All things most desirable for man’s welfare, here and hereafter, are to be found portrayed in it.”

    No surprise you would meet a man named Abraham as part of your day of miracles!

    • asklotta January 15, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

      WOW, Liz I always LOVE your comments! Can you beleive the whole event? Even the street address is the same name as the child’s. This whole thing blew me away!

  3. t January 16, 2013 at 12:23 am #

    I think it was CS Lewis who said something to the effect that miracles are quite common place in fact, it’s our ability to recognize them as such that is rare.

    Thanks for keeping your eyes open, and sharing them when you see them =]

    • asklotta January 16, 2013 at 2:07 am #

      🙂

      • cravensavor January 16, 2013 at 7:45 am #

        What an amazing day. Epiphany is the name of the Perish Church I used to go to in SF. I’m so sorry to hear about you Uncle Bill, no matter how lovely, lengthy or meaningfully one has lived, it always makes me sad to hear when some one loses a loved one. It’s just a reminder to make those around you feel loved, bc you never do know.. and no matter how late, (or not really), im sure your son will appreciate the gift.

      • asklotta January 16, 2013 at 11:12 am #

        Thank you so much for all your kind words. You are right life is short and we must do better.

  4. A Dog With Fleas January 16, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    What a great post. So heartfelt and uplifting!!

    • asklotta January 16, 2013 at 11:08 am #

      Thanks! I think what I really needed in that moment in time.

  5. Leaky Gut Syndrome January 17, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    It’s very good post! Congratulations! I really enjoyed to reading your blog. Thanks for share all things

    • asklotta January 17, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      Thanks! I am always amazed when I purposely change the tune in my head…what starts to happen and the joy it brings!

Leave a Reply

