Chris, Nairobi and the Grasshopper!

14 Jan
Dear Readers,

 
Once again I have met the most interesting person in Oklahoma at the Will Rogers Airport.
 
Let me introduce Chris…
 
I was seated with my laptop literally on my lap typing madly while trying not to waste a second of my free 20 minutes of Wi-FI. A woman sat down next to me and I do not even look up until my free Wi-Fi is gone. I started packing up my computer and made a comment about how 20 minutes fly’s by even  faster when it’s free! She confirms my thoughts and we stared to exchange pleasantries. She asked me where I was going and I said home. She asked me what I was doing in OK City and I tried to explain as best I could but even I have trouble understanding which delivers a set of sub skill sets in explaining. She laughed and said  “Perfect! A part-time husband, now that is something I could do.” I didn’t want to ruin her joke but also didn’t want to leave the wrong impression and commented, but when you miss them it is not as fun as it sounds. 
 
I asked her what her name was and asked where she was going… she responded “it’s Chris and I’m going to Nairobi to visit my 28 year old daughter for a couple of weeks.”
 
…That of course got me very interested (Nairobi) and I couldn’t stop talking! Come to find out not her first trip and I have a wonderful sense after ten minutes of talking with her, not her last.
 
Chris boarded first since I’m always in the last (called) zone but before she walked away she said….”I tell people I am a grasshopper. A grasshopper cannot jump backwards or sideways…Grasshoppers can only jump forwards.” 
 
I loved Chris’s positive perspective, her sense of adventure and certainly her sense of humor. 
 
The grim reality too many people lack the grasshopper’s strength of moving forward finding themselves jumping backwards (far too often) into dark bitterness of how they were wronged in life….with jealousy, revenge and hate as their loyal companions, morphing into physical and spiritual ugliness everyday! 
 
I am exhaling compassion, sending it out into the world today for all that pain people hold on to. For all those who lack the positive perspective in this moment in time not even realizing they are their own worse enemy by choosing darkness over light! I will always remain hopeful my compassion reaches them with an awakening to lightness (happiness) and the strenght to overcome their choice of darkness! 
 
“You may believe that you are responsible for what you do, but not for what you think. The truth is that you are responsible for what you think, because it is only at this level that you can exercise choice. What you do comes from what you think”
-Course in Miracles (jumpforjoy.wordpress.com)
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today in full forward jumping mode (my choice)!
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
Image 

10 Responses to “Chris, Nairobi and the Grasshopper!”

  1. candidobservation January 14, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    I LOVED THIS!!!!! Thank you!

    • asklotta January 14, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      You put a smile on my face! Thank YOU!

  2. Liz T. January 14, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    I LOVED IT, TOO! Thank you, little grasshopper!

    • asklotta January 15, 2013 at 12:08 am #

      What I didn’t mention in my posting, Chris is divorced and is a true spirit of I am just going to make the most out of life! Thanks my friend for your continuing support! xo

  3. Gloria Harrington January 14, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Great perspective..

    • asklotta January 15, 2013 at 12:09 am #

      Doesn’t Chris have a great perspective! I have met the most interesting people in the Will Rogers Airport…xoxo

  4. A Dog With Fleas January 14, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    What a great perspective to have and one I need to remember in those times I do that. Always interesting meeting up with new people and hearing their stories.

    • asklotta January 14, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

      I know! I’m a firm believer people walk into your life for a reason…Christ walked into mine to deliver a positive attidude with a great sense of adventure. I still think about her positive words!

  5. t January 15, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    No lie, as I read this, “Mr. Blue Sky” started playing on my ipod, almost as if to drive your point home. Thank you for the breath of fresh air, Lotta =]

    • asklotta January 15, 2013 at 11:24 am #

      T – I LOVE you expression…the playlist in my head, especially when you said, “I control the playlist in my head.” That to me was part of my awaken!!! As I sit at my computer creating different music playlist for my ipod, I also have that much influence what goes on between my ears! You are the BEST!

Leave a Reply

