Jury Duty Or Falling Through The Rabbit Hole!

21 Dec
Dear Readers,
 
Monday, December 10, 8:30 AM here I sit….
 
My day began…
 
Silent Investor out of the house very early, posted on my blog, read other blogs, enjoyed a most delicious cup of coffee, watched a little morning news/squawk box and into the shower. Son wasn’t awake, woke him up, finished dressing, got dogs and garbage out, got dogs back in, dropped son off at bus and straight to the court house I went….
 
Jury duty!
 
Now the last time I was called for jury duty was about 20 years ago in New Jersey. I sat in a small courtroom with about 15 other people. We were then asked to sit in the hall and about an hour later, called back into small courtroom and was told, “You all must have looked very scary, they settled.” We were thanked, and I arrived home before lunch.
 
But here in Cleveland…Ah here in Cleveland… Jury Duty is a completely different beast and I do mean beast. To sign in one must stand in a long line with the correct letter heading A-L – M-Z designating two separate lines. Once signed in, one gets to sit in a larger room with about 200 other potential jurors.
 
Around 8:45 AM a short 15-minute movie is shown. It starts off with a man bound and gaged with spectators dressed in what I would call witch-hanging attire.
About 2000 years ago in Europe there was a justice system called “Trial by Ordeal” They would put the accused hand in boiling water and if the hand was healed in three days they were presumed innocent. Another method, throwing the accused in a lake bound and gaged and if the person sunk they were presumed innocent.
 
The movie was informative about jury duty and intended to make us all feel quite thrilled we have trail by jury and hence thrilled to be part of what makes our country so great.
 
After the short movie was over, a judge was there to bestow his sense of humor, and speak to the jury pool regarding our responsibilities and the process of voir dire (seeking the truth).
 
Please know the wheels of justice turn ever so slowly (if at all at times) and about an hour and half  later I hear my name called over a loud speaker (names picked by random) I am to report to the 19th floor to Judge Peter Corrigan’s courtroom with 34 other potential jurors.
 
Little did I know at the time…Instead of falling through a rabbit hole as Alice did in “The Adventures of Alice in Wonderland” I took the elevator up…but trust me on this one, it was the exact same thing!
 
Stay tuned, more adventures coming!
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today in a free fall!
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
Image 

7 Responses to “Jury Duty Or Falling Through The Rabbit Hole!”

  1. candidobservation December 21, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Loved reading about what justice used to be, 2000 years ago. Even though I complain about how slowly justice works, and about how, so frequently, in spite of juries, there is no justice for those who cannot afford to pay for it, I am glad we have moved up a bit from the way justice used to be sought!

    Happy jurying!

    • asklotta December 21, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      This has been a very interesting experience. I got an up close and personal view of the other world that exists in Cleveland…and I do mean another world.

  2. Lucas J. Draeger December 22, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    Last time I was called for jury duty, I spaced and forgot to respond. I hear that’s bad. Still waiting for the Feds to show up and haul me to the gulag.

    • asklotta December 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      Hahaha…This was Alice in wonderland, wish I was kidding. I think God had a hand in you forgetting!

  3. Linda Alexander December 26, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    Rachel was just called for jury duty too…but doesn’t live in Cleveland, so had an excuse. Philip has never been called nor my son. I was asked only once, but it was at a very strange time and my neighbor, who works for Geauga County, got me out of it. Keep us posted!

    • asklotta December 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

      Just wait….It is so broken and I do not know where to begin to fix it!!!!

  4. Grady March 30, 2015 at 11:44 pm #

    Very informative article, i’m regular reader of your site.
    I noticed that your website is outranked by many other websites in google’s search results.
    You deserve to be in top10. I know what can help you,
    search in google for:
    Omond’s tips outsource the work

Leave a Reply

