The Holidays!

19 Nov
Dear Readers,

 
Though the holidays for many are filled with much love and laughter…but sadly for others, quite the opposite.  The holidays seem to pull scabs off of old emotional wounds… whether by death, illness, divorce, loneliness, financial or due to really bad decisions. This all adds up to personal grief that becomes even more blown up and grows way out of proportion. It becomes oh so difficult to manage at a time when we think we need to create the “Hallmark” image. 
 
Even though it seems to be the Christmas holiday as the deal breaker for emotional health, I find for many it begins at Thanksgiving and we all should slow down and release the control we think we have but truly never did. A loud rendishen of the Beatles song “Let It Be” would be perfect right about now!
 
I find for many people Thanksgiving is the pre-gaming to the Bigger, Better, More frantic (hot mess) holiday! 
 
Already exhausted from the Thanksgiving cooking, the drunk comment made by Aunt whoever about whatever!… And then before the break of daylight  “Black Friday” up early to the stores, waiting in long lines, getting pushed, shoved, to make the deal that the retail Gods have led you to believe you can-NOT possibly afford to miss! Or possibly this year all that excitement will come at 8 p.m. on Thanksgiving! If I am even still awake at 8 p.m. I will surely be in my p.j. trying to figure out how and why I ate so much!!!
 
Why, why, WHY I ask you do we do it?  For two reason, 
1) To create the Christmas magic for the ones you love. 
2) We feel we are going to miss out
 
AHHHH! We all have been drinking the retail kool-aide far too long!  
 
…AND with all that said
 
Celebrate the Moment

Despite our good intentions, remember that the holidays rarely turn out as planned. Focus on making them a special time for you and your family, no matter what the circumstances. Celebrate this season of hope and expectation. Celebrate the many blessings in your life.

Rev. Susan Gregg-Schroeder Coordinator of Mental Health Ministries

 
A great on-line article about emotionally managing the holidays with a wonderful six step action plan, please go to…
 
 
 
1) Know Your Limits
2) Don’t over schedule
3) Skip the holiday Toasts
4) Ask for help with holiday errands
5) Don’t forget your meds
6) Don’t ignore the warning signs
 
 
This year I plan to work really hard at finding my calm, grace and peace and relax my way into this years Christmas season. I am going to create the magic for the ones I love by being responsible for my actions and my actions ONLY. I am going to stay away from toxic people who only have greed, jealousy and hate in their hearts. I am going to attend church more often to be reminded that the birth of our savior is why we even celebrate Christmas. 
 
“…The newborn child to remind me the wonder and trust are the hope of the future.” -Psalm for the meaning of life
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today by taking one day at a time remaining mindful of all my peaceful calm choices!
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
 Image
 

8 Responses to “The Holidays!”

  1. Liz T. November 19, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    I love it! Beautiful! Well said, Lotta! And a great reminder for the reason of the season!

    XOXO Liz T.

    • asklotta November 19, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      I have been reading a lot of blogs lately about people feeling depressed, sad, anxiety, loss of hope. I don’t know if it is the season (shorter days) or the approaching holidays (or both) but we all need a reminder to go back to basics and back to the church..at least I welcome the opportunity to remind myself of God in my life! xxoo

  2. t November 20, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    In my humble experience, the “magic” of the holidays only happens when you actively stop. Just stop, and allow it to happen for you, instead of because of you.

    • asklotta November 20, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      Perfectly said! T- how did you get so brilliant?

      • t November 21, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

        You seem to have a different definition of the word than I…

      • asklotta November 21, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

        Hahaha You must be including the word humble in your definition!

  3. Patrick Weseman November 21, 2012 at 1:43 am #

    For me the so-called “holiday season” is a time for people to try to one-up each other. I tend not to like the holidays but I fake it for my kids (as they are in high school now so they know how I feel) and always have.

    But enough of that depressing tone. I try to make the so-called “holiday magic” all throughout the year. Why does it have to be just these six weeks a year. In August I try to donate some warm clothing to a shelter, in May I might give a homeless person a sandwich and so on. I feel that we need to be decent and giving people for 52 weeks a year and not for just six during the so-called “holiday season”.

    • asklotta November 21, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Patrick, your actions and thoughts are all about my post for today. Lets try to keep the materialistic expectation from ruining a special time plus lets keep the “just being together” throughout the year! I think it is time to stop faking it and really find the happiness and peace this year. It might me doing things completely different. You know the definition of insanity…doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. I too am going to do things differently…I am slowing down and will not allow the frantic world to push me this year! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

