Mindful Timely Comments!

1 Nov
Dear Readers,
 
Since Halloween as been postponed until Sunday in my town due to hurricane Sandy… My lip snarled like “Snidely Whiplash” Ha! Now with a four day extension I’ve got more time to plot, more time to snarl at this orange and black holiday.  I must confess I started to think of ideas for this year’s Halloween costume with a ” six days of rain attitude” (as if you couldn’t tell) and came up with… H U R R I C A N E  
S A N D Y. YES you heard it here first, I am going as hurricane Sandy! That will be my costume!!!
 
Why not? How appropriate I thought. I would answer the door with a fan blowing on high behind me and a bucket of rain water that I would throw drenching trick-or-treaters with wind and water or at least the rain water would end up on the teenagers who show up at my door in sweatshirts and do nothing but mumble and hold out their hands….AND THEN…AND THEN…and then,  I read a comment from a reader…. 
 
…commenting on my post (10.31.12) “We Can, We Do…but Should We?”  
 
Dear Lotta –
Your blog today takes me to one of my favorite books, “The Hiding Place,” by Corrie Ten Boom, a true account of life in a concentration camp (interesting how your topic keeps taking me back to the holocaust). Corrie was there with her sister, Betsy. Betsy, a living ray of hope, faith and forgiveness, tells Corrie that she needs to be thankful for everything in her life — even as she lay on her hay platform bed that was infested with fleas. Huh? How could she possibly be thankful for these horrible, painful, fleas and flea bites? But Corrie gave in and thanked God for the fleas.
Later it was found that the reason the guards didn’t enter Corrie and Betsy’s barracks to beat and torture this particular group of women was because of the fleas.
Need I say more?
 
Thank you for reminding me of all the appreciation I should be giving daily for there is always something and everything to be thankful for even after six days of constant rain. I truly needed your comment/reminder today of all days (God works in mysterious ways) to be thankful for everything in my life. It has now been six long days of non-stop rain in Cleveland with no hope of clouds clearing with a cease and desist any time soon today.
 
This all started last Friday when we got slammed by a storm charging from the West, without a pause button to push, by mid-day Monday the storm charging from the East (Sandy) slammed right up against us!  It has been relentless and I am quite desperate for some sunshine!  I feel as if I’m turning into a mushroom!!! 
 
Let me say it again, God works in mysterious ways! Your mindful timely comment with meaningful thoughts delivered me (back) to my sense of humor (without a bucket of rain water to throw) but yet instead filled with gratitude …I am grateful for MY problems, wouldn’t trade them for the world! My husband and ALL my children are safe…”Need I say more?”
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today tossing my hurricane sandy costume idea and instead remaining in rain boots and a rain slicker drenched in full appreciation!
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
 Image

4 Responses to “Mindful Timely Comments!”

  1. Melissa Lee November 1, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I love your blog, I look forward to a good read every morning and this morning’s post is no exception. I was introduced to AskLotta by my friend, Nancy Kaufman…….what a find! Thanks so much for this today….I really needed it!

    • asklotta November 1, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      Thank you! I will be on a wonderful high today because of your kind words…thank you so much for taking the time to comment!!!!

  2. Liz T. November 1, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    Dear Lotta,
    Thank you for the reminder that my husband and all my children are safe. Sometimes they are my “fleas.” I wake up every morning looking forward to your blog!!!!!!!! I am thankful for YOU! Xoxo Liz T

    • asklotta November 1, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      hahahahahaha OMG..you are to to to funny!

Leave a Reply

