We Can…We Do…but Should We?

31 Oct
Dear Readers,

 
It was a comment from t from the blog of aslongasimsinging.wordpress.com that got me thinking. You see he has that effect on me but please know he has that effect on everyone and anyone who reads his blog or in this case his comments! P.S. he can also get you “dancing with myself” and deliver you sweetly to a carefree place!  Please check him out for some of your own thought provoking toe tapping, arms swinging joy rides! http://aslongasimsinging.wordpress.com/2012/10/29/dancing-with-myself/ (cut and paste!!!!!!)
 
My question from (Oct 29) post “My Two Cents Worth” regarding a brutal murder.
 
My question: In a just and moral society, is it possible to push someone too far emotionally, bullying, humiliation, degradation? If the answer is yes, then in a just and moral society should we hold them accountable for their actions? 
 
t’s comment:
 
“in a moral and just society is it possible to push people too far leaving them free of responsibly for their actions?” In a word, no.
That being said, if we hope to someday become a moral and just society, we need to all work together to stop the pushing.
 
My response

Spot on and perfectly stated! We are always responsible for our actions but what I am reading and seeing these days, the relentless pushing is none stop and I am beginning to think humans/people have created a society that makes it impossible for them to live in it.

 
Which got me thinking….Do you think it is possible or do you think it has already happened that humans have out maneuvered themselves. Creating/created a world/society that they can’t live in? Similar to the Dr. Seuss book “The Lorax”.
 
Pushing, Pushing, Pushing…
 
Technology (friend and enemy), Automatic weapons (firing 30 bullets in 3 seconds at suburban movie theaters, high schools), Weapons of mass destruction, Drugs (lifestyle drugs), Advanced Medicine, (people in limbo neither dead nor alive), Antibiotics/Steroids/Hormones given to humans…fed to animals now in our food supply, The National Debt, Wars…and it goes on and on!
 
pushing, pushing, pushing…
 
The laws of our society can not possible keep up with the emotional and ethical positions that are left at our societal feet. In many situations our advanced medical technology has replaced God’s Will (for better and worse.)
…a baby born at 14 weeks can survive due to today’s medical technology but delivers us all into an ethical quagmire reeling from quality of life, health care cost, and the stress and strain on the parents/family. 
…an Alzheimer’s patient with cancer? 
 
Pushing, Pushing, Pushing…
 
“When cruel words fly from the mouth of another…We may never have the choices we would have if we were writing the script but we always have choices.”
 
So t you are most certainly correct “we need to all work together to stop the pushing.” for any hope of becoming a moral and just society! This can all start by one person making a difference and collectively making it happen. For I believe it is kindness, love and a belief in something bigger than yourself. For in the end… If God is replaced by one’s own self interest….it is the beginning to the end! As it surely was for Magidson, Merel and Gwen Araujo (Oct 29 post)
 
“But now, says the Once-ler,
Now that you’re here,
the word of the Lorax seems perfectly clear.
UNLESS someone like you
cares a whole awful lot,
nothing is going to get better.
It’s not.”
-Dr. Seuss (The Lorax)
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today caring “a whole awful lot.” AND thanking t for his thought provoking comments filled with peaceful inspiration of kindness and hopeful solutions.
 
Happy Halloween!…please stay safe.
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
Image

8 Responses to “We Can…We Do…but Should We?”

  1. Patrick Weseman October 31, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    In regards to the children born too early and working in the industry I do (State Special School) I have wondered that also.

    In regards to the great post, I have always think that we always answer the question: We will do something and we can do something, but never ask or answer the question: Should we do something? I think that this question needs to addressed also.

    I know that it sounds mean and such, but I look at our overall quality of life. I see my two teen-agers and the life that have and awaits them. I didn’t grow up in the best conditions but I learned stuff and learned how to deal and get along with people. I see my daughter with her I-Touch and Phone stuck to her ears and my son sitting there drooling while playing his XBox and not getting out and exploring the world. When they come over to my house there is no Xbox, we cook together and we eat together and talk. I know that sounds simple but sometimes simple is good.

    Sorry for being all over the place with this.

    • asklotta October 31, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Patrick, we are so on the same parenting page! People have forgotten to teach their children the truly important things in life like honesty, respect and love…another words character. Children are growing up with more then any generation but are ill equipped to deal with life. Happiness comes from within and certainly not at the Apple store. I am seeing more and more smart kids who have been given everything except the ability to communicate and to succeed on their own. I want to drop kick this entitlement attitude to the curb! No one is entitled to a darn thing!!!!

    • asklotta October 31, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      Patrick, with your permission I would love to use your comment in a posting. I wouldn’t use your name. Thanks

  2. Liz T. October 31, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Dear Lotta —

    Your blog today takes me to one of my favorite books, “The Hiding Place,” by Corrie Ten Boom, a true account of life in a concentration camp (interesting how your topic keeps taking me back to the holocaust). Corrie was there with her sister, Betsy. Betsy, a living ray of hope, faith and forgiveness, tells Corrie that she needs to be thankful for everything in her life — even as she lay on her hay platform bed that was infested with fleas. Huh? How could she possibly be thankful for these horrible, painful, fleas and flea bites? But Corrie gave in and thanked God for the fleas.

    Later it was found that the reason the guards didn’t enter Corrie and Betsy’s barracks to beat and torture this particular group of women was because of the fleas.

    Need I say more?

    XOXO Liz T.

    • asklotta October 31, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      WOW! I always love your comments! Always so powerful and insightful!

  3. t November 1, 2012 at 12:30 am #

    =]

Leave a Reply

