Halloween!

30 Oct

Dear Readers,

 

I am going to say it out loud…I Hate Halloween! 

 

I know how it makes me sound like an anti-candy person, which I am NOT. Which is completely ridiculous to anyone who knows me, I could not survive without some kind of (sweetly, sweetfull, sweet-a-licious) indulgence everyday if not twice a day!

 

One would think with such a sweet tooth and sweet thoughts this would be MY holiday…keep reading!

 

I never have liked Halloween even as a kid growing up in Rochester, NY. Any Rochester child knows one of the most important decisions regarding a Halloween costume is; can you wear it over a snowsuit (will it still fit?) and will it lose its impact?

 

Do not get what all the fuss fun is all about.

 

I hate having my doorbell ringing every five minutes. I am a generous person, I love giving, I love giving candy…just ask Thing one and Thing two? With one hand on the bible, swearing under oath, they would scream from their sugar high…”YES!” I give them lots and lots of (candy/cookies) treats.

My dogs’ staffs go crazy with every footstep, voice and doorbell they hear! Inside my home a barking-fest, giving pause to even the biggest dog lover a question of my staff’s existence. Poor Elwood and poor Augie, thinking we are under attack, bless their protective hearts!…Maybe my Halloween blessing will be hurricane Sandy?

Image

Elwood and Augie standing guard!

Image

Target -1st floor

Image

Target – 1st Floor

 

Do not get what all the bother fun is all about.

Halloween is a time for the truly gifted and artistic mothers to shine brightly (I am definitely Not one of them). YOU own the cluster of streets in your neighborhood, YOU own the Halloween party at school.  The Halloween talent light shines brightly on you, not your child (hmmm) Please do not confuse those who make a costume with those who CREATE a costume. Halloween CREATIONS would bring any Broadway producer down to his knees green with envy (no pun intended.)

Image

Target – 2nd Floor

 

Do not get what all the aggravation fun is all about.

Halloween is a time when some adult women use it as an excuse to dress like sluts their fantasies.  Men (equal opportunist) use it as the same excuse, a gynecologist or Hugh Hefner…and they always think they are so original and oh so funny ewww. 

Image

The Mall 10.27.12

Do not get what all the commotion fun is all about.

But what you all do not know (and must) about Halloween in Rochester, NY or I should say trick or treating at my house, MY FAMILY. After a night of hard work, running from house to house, screaming trick or treat at adults, getting rewarded handsomely with sweet candy to add to our already way too heavy pillowcases filled with sugared treats. Upon our arrival back home (I and my sister)…  would get greeted at our front door by my Mother with a smile on her face. We would empty all our candy out and Mother would have us pick six of our most favorite pieces of candy we wanted to keep (more then enough for any one child) and then for the rest of our sweet stash  (pounds and pounds of candy) my Mother would take it to the pediatric floors at our local hospitals for children who were unable to enjoy one of the most fun nights’ a child could possibly have!

 

 

Ok Ok…maybe there is some (lots) of fun in this orange and black holiday!  For I will be thinking of my beautiful, sweet and generous mother tomorrow with a smile on my face as the doorbell rings, the dogs bark and children screaming trick or treat! For it was the love of my Mother that made everyday sweeter for me and for so many children in hospitals on Halloween!

 

Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today… Halloween “ready and able” … a bowl filled with candy, 2 dog crates office cubicles, a huge sugar rush and a witch’s hat on my head! (Pun intended)

 

Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!

 

Kindest regards,

 

Asklotta

 

President and CEO

 

CBCorp

Image 

 

 

 

14 Responses to “Halloween!”

  1. Patrick Weseman October 30, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Agreed. I have always worked in the evening, so I am never home for Halloween. If I want candy, I wait for the day after Halloween and get my stash. My two high-school age kids tell me that they are going trick-n-treating in their mom neighborhood for free candy. I told them to wait a day and I will go Target and get it for half-price.

    I am also tired of people using Halloween as an excuse to tear things up. They go out and get drunk and tear stuff up (I do not know if you have ever seen Halloween in the Castro in San Francisco) and with the Giants parade tomorrow. I think all the goofy people will be out. Time to stay home.

    • asklotta October 30, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

      We are so on the same page, tomorrow all the candy you want for half the cost!

    • asklotta October 30, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

      Don’t get the destruction part of the night either (toilet paper in trees, bushes, eggs thrown at houses/people, mailboxes knocked down etc..)

      • Patrick Weseman October 30, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

        A lot of it has to do with booze

      • asklotta October 31, 2012 at 12:43 am #

        yes of course!

  2. Liz T. October 30, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    Okay. Halloween. Do I love it or do I hate it?

    Last Halloween I loved it. I was in Park City, UT (aka Dog City, U.S.A.) where their famous dog parade takes place on Main Street. I simply cannot put into words the hilarity — just close your eyes and visualize it. In fact, I’m visiting there now and am staying extra days simply to attend this event!

    As a kid I loved it. I even threw a few eggs (more than a few).

    As a young mom I loved it. I loved making costumes for my son. The devil was the best.

    As a stepmom I started out loving it. Then I hated it. That’s because I lovingly slaved over the sewing machine (trying desperately to score points with my new stepdaughter) only to have her and her mother swing by and pick up the almost-finished costume when I wasn’t home. Off they went to their costume parties. I think there might have been a major blow-up over that one. In fact I know there was. Where were the eggs when I needed them?

    So it’s love/hate. My old friend, Bob Martin, who can still make me pee my pants laughing, got it right. If he felt a kid was too old to be trick-or-treating, he heaved the candy at him before he reached the door.

    Happy Halloween, Lotta! Thanks for the memories!

    • asklotta October 31, 2012 at 12:46 am #

      Hahaha…please bring home pictures of the dog parade! I think that would definitely put the treat back in my Halloween!

  3. Nancy Kaufman October 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    Oh how I share your sentiments about Halloween! I HATE Halloween and it’s decorations! What happened to carving pumpkins and putting a candle in them? That’s all we did when I was growing up. And whose house looks good with orange and black decorations? It’s just an excuse to buy more junk that we don’t need.

    • asklotta October 30, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      so true! Another bastardize holiday!

      • Patrick Weseman October 31, 2012 at 4:11 am #

        I remember doing that also. My teen-age kids have never done that.

      • asklotta October 31, 2012 at 8:28 am #

        🙂

  4. t October 31, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    “can you wear it over a snowsuit” This resonated so strongly with this Buffalo kid!!! And in fact, a major part of even this years costumes was sizing them “to fit.”

    • asklotta October 31, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      Hahaha t – Unless you have walked the walk no one knows the problems of how a snowsuit can ruin the best halloween costume idea in a snowflake second!

      • t October 31, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

        I think it’s a unique experience to us upstate New Yorkers (had no idea you were that close to me geographically). I spent far too many years being an “lumpy” space alien, an “lumpy” private detective, a “lumpy” six million dollar man – and, oh! Won’t those plastic masks of the era ever cold against your face!

Leave a Reply

