Passing in Peace leaves ALL in Peace!

4 Oct
Dear Readers,
 
A very kind and loving man passed away gently in his sleep last Thursday, September 27. I am taking a moment today to honor his life for he was a man that not only passed in peace but also passed on a most precious gift, the gift of peace to ALL. 
 
…Allow me to explain
 
On July 18 I posted “Divorcing” basically saying there is a time for hurt and pain in divorcing but there also NEEDS to be a time to move on (putting down the swords) for everyone’s sake. So eventually the shattered family could/would be able to become a new whole, a new family, with new rules and boundaries for healing.
 
I gave the example of Katie Homes and Tom Cruise. I am so very positive there was a tremendous amount of pain to spread around for everyone involved, (including extended families/friends). But they certainly conducted themselves as adults. Their divorce could have played out in the media with unforgivable words and actions spitted at each other with famous divorce lawyers becoming even more rich and famous. But instead they were the model divorcing couple…remaining dignified.
 
I received a response from a reader who said Wow I haven’t thought about this in years and shared her experience as a child of divorce.
 
She wrote…(please see July 19 posting for full letter)
 
“My mother took the high road when my Dad left her for another woman. She never once said a negative thing about my dad after their divorce. She never once said the words “child support” or “money” or “your dad did blankety-blank-blank to me” or “if your dad hadn’t left me…” or “your dad won’t pay for that so you can’t do it.” 
 
“She never said one negative thing about my stepmom (and from my experience and observation it’s the insecurity of the bio-mom that starts the name-calling and/or bad relationship between a bio-mom and a stepmom — so here’s to you, Mom!). “
 
“My mother gave me the freedom to love my stepmom. And guess what — I love my mother even more for it. So, my parents gave me the gift of harmony within their divorce, and the gift of many holidays with all three of them. Open minds create open hearts.”
 
“I still have my parents. They’re 88, soon to be 89. I lost my stepmom recently and would give anything to have her back. But God works in mysterious ways. Instead of my mom and dad living their lives out alone, they like to spend their time together with me. We yuck it up, laugh about the past, try to figure out my brothers, go on rides, and we all miss my stepmom. How’s that for life going full circle? It’s the payoff for two people taking the high road. We all win!”
 
A week ago Tuesday his daughter and former wife ALL took a drive together to their favorite place to enjoy some time and some fall colors. When Mr. K quietly passed in his sleep just two days later, his daughter had sweet memories of her father, and Tuesday’s words…he said, “I am so happy I am with my family.” All the years and years of kindness allowed that Tuesday’s travel plans as a family, a destination of being ALL together in his final days… But please read on!
 
A day before Mr. K died he said to his daughter,  “I had your mother put back in my will, it was the lease I could do for all her years of kindness.” AND…
 
His Obituary reads:
 
November 09.1923 – September 27, 2012
“Donald K, age 88. beloved husband of the late Eloise M. Loving father….
Dear friend and former spouse to Jean. “The Silver Fox” was a unique guy, to say the least, and always ready to entertain family and friends with hilarious dances, songs, and faces…. he proudly fought for our country in WWII as a pilot in the Army Air Corps. As he put it, he had “a good run” and will forever be remembered for his duck calls, love of the west, exuberant personality, positive attitude in the face of illness, perplexing life decisions, and appreciation of laughter, fresh air, animals, and life.” 
 
So here’s to you Mr. K, for helping keep our great nation safe, for your sense of humor and for what you left behind….us ALL together! 

  

BUT with all that said, it was the love in your heart that enabled a peaceful passing for you and for those you needed to leave behind! 
 
For that Mr. K…
 
We will ALL be on the West Side, together!
We will ALL be remembering your life, together!
We will ALL be supporting the ones you love, together!
We will ALL be filled with much laughter, together!
We will ALL be missing you, together! 
 
AND for ALL of that Mr. K., thank you so very much!  For you have left us ALL able to be together in peace!!! 
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today celebrating the life of Mr. K (not a perfect man) but certainly a perfectly loving man.
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
 Image
 

4 Responses to “Passing in Peace leaves ALL in Peace!”

  1. Liz T. October 4, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Thank you, Lotta!

    I am so fortunate to have had my dad for so many years, and especially to have had the last few months with just my mom and dad. I’ve learned to expect the unexpected, and I try not to have expectations! But, wow, what a gift!

    Thank you for your beautiful writing today and tribute to my dad…

    Love, Liz

    • asklotta October 4, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

      You and your whole family have been a wonderful blessing in my life along with much inspiration!
      xoxo

  2. t October 5, 2012 at 4:19 am #

    Simply beautiful, Lotta. Simply beautiful.

    • asklotta October 5, 2012 at 10:12 am #

      Thank you so much t, I truly appreciate!

Leave a Reply

