Day 4 – It’s called “breaking wind” or “giving a blow”

27 Sep

Dear Readers,

 

Day 4 – We began our ride in Bodega Bay and ended in Healdsburg: 50 miles (4,000 ft. elevation gain).  

 

We peddled along the magnificent Bodega Bay, through farmlands and into Armstrong Redwoods State Reserve (had never been) for a delicious picnic lunch, (thank you Courtney, Mason and Mark) and up the Russian River. We continued on to Arista Winery with great Pinot Noir and tranquil Japanese Gardens. The uphill driveway was not too much for us to tackle for the informational tasting. 

 

I was feeling powerful and full of energy at this point with 43 miles under my biking shorts belt, with only seven more miles to our hotel AND to my personal best! 

 

After viewing the photos below I am sure you will understand why Day 4 was my favorite biking day. We were treated to a wide variety of spectacular scenery, from Bodega Bay to farmlands to redwood trees including the Russian River. A truly inspirational day on many levels, physically, spiritually and emotionally. Hands down my favorite ride!

Image 

Bodega Bay

 

Image

Self-explanatory

 

Image

Armstrong Redwoods State Reserve: Mr. Hilarious, Silent Investor and Mr. Frank Sinatra (certainly NOT an Italian but sure can sing like one!)

 

Image

Russian River

 

In this moment in time (day 4 of my biking blog) I need to tell you something relevant about my silent investor, I feel note worthy (behind the scenes) about this trip:

 

1)    For many of the uphill miles I biked, my silent investor has puposely ridden about a foot in front of me (fully capable of much faster speeds). It’s called “breaking wind” or “giving a blow” sacrificing his legs and pace to save my legs from exhaustion. A truly loving act of kindness and partnership!

 

If anyone has tried to do this, you will know it is similar to dancing… traveling at fast speeds, someone needs to know how to lead, and the other person needs to know how to follow (so not to crash) mixed with a tremendous amount of trust.

 

AND…

 

2)    My Silent Investor’s sobriety has remained for this whole trip. Not a sip of wine or a congratulatory end of ride beer… (He is 17 months living strong!)

  

Which is why I am dedicating Aretha Franklin’s song “Baby I love you” to my best guy!

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4YluKPRrFBw

 

Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS completely in awe of my Silent Investor’s great acts of love.

 

Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!

 

Kindest regards,

 

Asklotta

 

President and CEO

 

CBCorp 

Image

  

4 Responses to “Day 4 – It’s called “breaking wind” or “giving a blow””

  1. cghanna45@aol.com September 27, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Sounds like you are having the trip of a lifetime! And your silent investor is the partner of a lifetime!!! Travel fully and safely

    Sent from my iPad

    • asklotta September 27, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      I had NEVER done anything like this before! HE always ups my game to new experiences! Plus I wanted readers to know how much fun it is NOT to drink!

  2. t September 28, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Congratulations, and CONGRATULATIONS!

    • asklotta September 28, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Thanks, Thank you!
      Heads up…I’m rebloging your “the Dress” in a couple of weeks! Now thats the kind of stuff that makes women melt!!!!!

Leave a Reply

