At The Whim Of The Town!

13 Sep
Dear Readers,
 
I had notice on my street some large orange cones on the sidewalk as well as through out my town before I left for Boston. The city is replacing some of the sidewalk squares, which one would imagine is a good thing for pedestrians. But wait just one second; hold that pleasant thought, for when it comes to our government at any level it is always costly and highly ineffective. 
 
So allow me to back up for a moment…
 
While I was in Boston Thing One and Thing Two’s mother emailed me a threat, joking of course… She said she was going to remove the three large orange cones in front of her house and place them in front of mine. I responded LOL, having loads of fun in Boston with my daughter! I thought she was joking about turning my house into a construction sight.
 
Sounds O.K. right?  
 
Well, well, well…Today three new squares of my neighbor’s sidewalk were replaced with newly poured cement. I carved my monogram in one of the newly cemented squares while the coast was clear; no one was home or in sight. Later in the day I couldn’t wait to show off my handy work and that is when I found out about the full impact of her earlier joke (email)….
 
Last week our town had workers going around arbitrarily (so it seems to me) placing orange cones in front of houses marking off squares the town wanted to replace. Now here is the kick in the pants, the homeowner has to pay about $500 per square to have it replaced. If you are older then six you have figured out by doing some quick math in your head my neighbor had to pay $1,500 to have a city worker pour cement into three squares of sidewalk in front of her house! My neighbors had no choice, no say in the matter! If they chose not to pay, it would have been added to their property taxes. Which translates to me; a New and Increased Property Tax to homeowners! 
 
Do you see this as an outrageous abuse of town/city power or is it just me?
 
I have a question or rather I have a few questions/thoughts…
 
       1)    If our already exorbitant taxes do not pay for sidewalk repairs/replacement then what the H E double hockey sticks is included in our hugely unfair property taxes?
 
         2)     I think Obama is full of sh$t if he does not think I am already paying more then my fair share of taxes!
 
    3) If the homeowner has to pay for replaying the sidewalk in front of their house, then it would seem to me, “private property” and no one should be allowed to walk on it except the homeowners and invited guest.
 
   4) If the homeowner is responsible for replacing the public sidewalk they should be able to “bid it out” like any other home improvement project.
 
   5) Lesson learned – before I purchase another home anywhere in this world I will ask the town for a “full disclosure list” of what the homeowner is financially obligated to pay at the town’s whim.
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today installing a toll for anyone who wants to walk on MY sidewalk!
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp  
Image

10 Responses to “At The Whim Of The Town!”

  1. Le Clown September 13, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Ask Lotta,
    I can’t comment on the state of your sidewalks, nor about where your tax dollars go… What I can say though is that now that you left Boston for wonderful Cleveland. you do not have to root for the evil Boston Bruins. That’s right.
    Le Clown

    • asklotta September 13, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      Le Clown,
      If the fact be known I root for all of the Boston’s sports teams, The Boston Bruins were the very first professional hockey team I saw in person as well as the Red Sox and Celtics. I use to live in Boston, had all three of my children in Boston…but today I am married to a Red Wing fan!…Go figure!

      • Le Clown September 13, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

        Ask Lotta,
        The Wings are an improvement, said the HABS fan.
        Le Clown

      • asklotta September 13, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

        🙂

  2. t September 14, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    Argh – similar thing here, except we either have to repair or replace on our own. And they’re only broken because of the rootz from the – you guessed it – government-planted trees!

    • asklotta September 14, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      Hahaha, doesn’t that seem like an increase in your taxes without the label?

      • t September 14, 2012 at 11:57 am #

        Seems like the concrete people are in bed with the politicians. The politicians in my area REALLY get around… =)

      • asklotta September 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

        I haven’t figured out, if people are crooked before getting in to politics or politics turn them crooked.

      • t September 17, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

        I believe the answer is “yes.”

      • asklotta September 17, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

        painful as it is…You are correct!

Leave a Reply

