Olympic Watching Withdrawals!

16 Aug
Dear Readers,
 
I am having Olympic watching withdrawals! Fully admitting to no “off switch” as a spectator.
 
I woke up this morning without any hopes of the U.S. winning a medal. I now flop down on my sofa doing absolutely nothing except staring at a blank T.V. screen.  I have feelings of nervousness and anxiety knowing no one will run across my television screen at super human speed, Michael Phelps will no longer butterfly in an Olympic pool. 
 
No longer will I see or feel one of Missy Franklin’s smiles fill up my family room after winning yet another (world record backstroke) swimming race. I start to shake at the thought of the huge void in my life as the divers (single or in pairs) stop doing loop d’loops and entering the water at 35 miles an hour in front of me. 
 
I have fallen in to a lethargic heap due to the thought of no split second finishes, no cheetah legs attached to “superman” completely unaware of disabilities or limitations. I so miss the sand, Kerri Walsh and Misty May-Treanor. I crave one of Misty May’s words and gestures (after a win) holding up her hands in a sort of fist but with her thumb and pinky fingers straight up in the air thanking our troops with the words “this is for the troops, we’re fighting for you while you’re fight for us.” I catch myself standing with my hand over my heart waiting to hear the National Anthem but to no avail, that too has gone silent.
 
The words “spoiler alert” (history!) they are neither written nor spoken, a faint and distant memory, along with my heart racing in anticipation of yet another gold for the U.S.  No more “behind the scenes” interviews with athletes, their struggles, their sacrifices and their come to Jesus moments of truth… for me it was a rush, a high that lasted the whole day! No reason to even rise in the morning anymore!
 
“No past we can bring back by longing for it.”
-The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
 
And with that said…
 
…There is hope of a full recovery, the U.S. Open in Flushing, NY begins Monday August 27! Great sports (tennis) with great court drama (on and off) within minutes…. OK…within days!
 
Asklotta and Staff is MINDING YOUR BUSINESS today in spectators’ rehab knowing some very fine tennis is only 11 days away! AND with thoughts of the Winter Olympics are just a hop, skip and a jump away (18 months!)
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
Image

Leave a Reply

