“I Do, I Do, I Do. I Do, I Do…”

26 Jul
Dear Readers,
 
The New York Times, Sunday July 22 “I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do”… by Brooks Barnes
 
The article I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do reminds me of my posting titled “I Have No Problems” And Other Complaints” dated April 9. I wrote about an article and television interview by Laura T. Coffey regarding a woman in the UK (Samantha Brick) who was complaining that she was far too attractive and couldn’t wait to grow old and wrinkly because her beauty was nothing more then a burden. I was just about to theorize maybe I had no tolerance for Ms. Brick’s public display of narcissistic behavior mixed with a good healthy dose of stupidity because I was not in a very tolerant mood back in April but NO (that’s not it) I feel the exact same way today in July.
 
So with that said lets move on to the SundayStyles, The New York Times, Sunday, July 22 titles “I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do…” by Brooks Barnes
 
The article is basically filled with cranky individuals because they are invited to far too many weddings due to “the legalization of same-sex marriage” and their friends saying “I do” is monopolizing their weekends. And don’t forget to toss in some delicious judgment and voila an article in the New York Times about same-sex marriages with a twist of God Damn It, your happiness (wedding) is bugging the sh$t out of me!  
 
“Mr. Shields, 35, said one day this spring. “I spent my 20s going to weddings, being in weddings, shopping for weddings, helping to plan weddings. In my early 30s they finally started tapering off, and I was like, ‘Oh, thank God, we’re over the hump.”
  “He paused for dramatic effect, “Nope. Here come the Gays.”
 
I have to give Brooks Barnes a tremendous amount of credit. If it was my assignment to write this article for the New York Times I think I would have taken my note pad, smacked Mr. Shields in the head…then taken my pen and stabbed myself in the jugular, just so the pain in my head would stop from his incisive and obnoxious whining.
 
I have a need to quote my mother with her wise words and sanity in this very moment, she would say “just because you’re invited to something, doesn’t mean you have to accept.” Do you hear me Mr. Shields? Am I speaking loud enough Mr. Shields?  With everything that is going on in this world of ours (Colorado shooting) Mr. Shields complaint of a full and joyous social life is irritating.
 
Let us not forget, Gays finally won the right to get married after a long and painful battle for equality, for their union to be recognized by the state (sadly not all) to benefit from the same legal rights as straight marriages (medical, financial loans, children, taxes etc). So people who are just people can finally live their lives, just like everyone else, without unnecessary and additional problems. So dear Mr. Shields please contact Ms. Brick for your complaints of a full and joyous social life along with her complaints of being too pretty would at least give you both a simpatico ear.  Dear God help me, the brick wall I want to smack my head against is getting a little too close!
 
Mr. Barnes article does show not every one finds other people’s happiness such a burden, the article goes on to say, “Janet Barros, a 71-year-old retiree in Taunton, Mass., said she had been to at least 12 same-sex weddings since her home state legalized them in 2004 and can’t imagine anyone tiring of them. Each and every one has been lovely and moving.”
 
In my opinion true equality has finally happened to gays and straights regarding their wedded nuptials. There are lovely weddings and then there are over the top weddings (an obnoxious display of bad taste). There are weddings that everyone is happy for the couple and then there are weddings that bets are taken on the date of the obvious impending divorce. There are weddings that bring families together in acceptance, love and harmony and then there are weddings that make it a significant dividing point of no return…and so on and so forth. 
 
But I will leave you with a final quote from Mr. Barnes article regarding complaints of the “wed-a-thon”…
 
Mike Vollman…”Enjoy it while you can, he said, because weddings are a breeze compared with what comes next. Oh, Just, wait, he said. Were now on the other side of the gay-wedding bubble with our friends. You know what’s there? I call it death by gay baby shower.”
 
Asklotta and staff is MINDING YOUR BUSINESS today with absolutely no complaints of too much love, joy and commitment in this world of ours! In fact I wish there was more!
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
Image  

2 Responses to ““I Do, I Do, I Do. I Do, I Do…””

  1. t July 26, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    How terrible it must be, to have so many people want you to be a part of their lives.

    • asklotta July 26, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      Exactly my feelings! The burden of being surrounded by love and happiness…Damn it! The awful punishment of a full social calendar!

Leave a Reply

