Loyalty and Forgiveness?

25 Jul
Dear Readers,
 
Cleveland was in an official heat wave last week; As I sat in front of my computer I could feel sweat rolling down the back of my neck making my hair stick to my skin. My shirt looked as if I just ran through the sprinkler. It was 98 degrees in the shade; the humidity was so thick it felt like I could cut it with a knife and then my favorite dog jumped up in to my lap. I now had a 35-pound fur blanket on top of me! Difficult believing he was not as hot as I was if not hotter but go figure. I pushed him down and he starts licking my ankles, loyalty that’s what it was, loyalty! No matter how hot and uncomfortable he was Elwood would not allow his own discomfort stand in the way of trying to take good care of me, the translation in any language; love and loyalty! 
 
Which brings me to today’s post and question: Is it reasonable for humans to think of other humans (in their life) should have the same loyalty as a dog?  Should there be no limits to someone’s love and acceptance? Or (if limits) where and when should those limits be placed? How many times should limits be allowed to be crossed? Some say…love is limitless or Ali McGraw’s famous line “love means never having to say your sorry.” 
 
I say; you cannot un-ring a bell….
 
In my opinion certain people talk about forgiveness like a badminton game, batting the birdie back and forth until there is a winner, all so meaningless. Oprah talked about forgiveness, as in forgiving people who have done unspeakable acts not for them but for you. But I think that is something completely different and that is not the kind of forgiveness I am talking about today. That sounds more like radical acceptance; accepting what your life is with love. “Radical acceptance refers to your relationship with the reality of “what is” in the present moment. By arriving honestly and with openness to this moment’s experience, you create the possibility of then responding with wisdom and compassion.” 
 
Maybe for some people forgiving someone you love is actually (enabling) NOT accepting what is, but instead, standing in the quagmire of wants, submerged in a state of denial, fueling fantasies of a perfect life.
 
Image 
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today in a state of reality, of what truly is and I peacefully accept it all.
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what not to do!
 
Kindness regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp

6 Responses to “Loyalty and Forgiveness?”

  1. Nancy decamp Gary July 25, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    For me forgiveness=forgetfulness. I have a hard time remembering unpleasant situations or details of an unkind conversation. For the life of me, however, I never forget one iota of someones kind or generous act. I consider myself a lucky and loyal dog indeed!

    • asklotta July 25, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      Amen Nancy! You not only have discovered the formula to happiness but you have made a decision to live it for a happy life!
      xoxo

  2. t July 26, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    I think the loyalty you speak of can most times ever truly be seen between a parent and their child. I think this is because, of all the types of relationships we have, this is the one most natural.

    • asklotta July 26, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      You are correct, I would always forgive my children. I was also thinking of the times as a kid you had a best friend but as one grows older and your friend changes and not for the better, should one remain loyal and keep forgiving? Or when do you know when the final good by should be with relationships. Many married couples have survived adultery but others no.The whole forgiveness thing got my mind going.

      • t July 27, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

        The marriage of someone very dear to me recently did not survive the adultery, but in the final analysis, the act was simply the final straw to an overlooked relationship.

        Now, this is all simply my opinion, but while forgiveness may be key, there are multiple locks. Actively working at (an enjoying) a relationship is – I think – more important. The final good bye comes, not when you can’t forgive the person, but rather when you no longer have the strength or desire to fix what needs mending.

      • asklotta July 27, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

        WOW. Perfectly and eloquently stated t…”Actively working at (an enjoying) a relationship..” So true! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

