“Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake” A Memoir by Anna Quindlen

16 Jul
Dear Readers,
 
First let me state from the very beginning I have been a big fan of Anna Quindlen for many years so when I opened a priority mail envelope and discovered a dear friend from Chicago sent me her new book I leaped up in the air for joy and rapture! Immediately calling my friend to thank her and of course going in to an exciting review of her many talents.
 
So I am giving you all the heads up, my review of her new book “Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake” might be a little bias. To me she is the Erma Bombeck of my generation. What Erma Bombeck did for my mother’s generation, (which by the way I adored as well) Anna Quindlin has done for mine. MY GENERATION…the generation of college educated, the Pill, legalized abortions, Gloria Steinem’s mini skirts (even when they were out of fashion), soccer moms, working moms, PTA moms, over scheduling our brilliant children moms, too involved in our children’s lives moms (thinking we could and should have it all) those kind of moms! We are the generation that certainly has had more choices then any other generation of women.
 
“Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake” by Anna Quindlen
Genre: A Memoir
 
Anna Quindlen style is more soul searching then funny, though there is humor in her beautiful insightful perspective of reality. In her memoir she shares her wonderful sense of wisdom that she has picked up along the way as do most women in their 50’s, it is called life’s experiences. But is translated through magnificently poignant words.
 
She writes about happiness, (an excerpt)
 
“I’m not sure I could have seen that when I was younger, I somehow believed that if you had matching side chairs and a sofa that harmonized and some beautiful lamps to light them all and some occasional tables with family photographs in frames scattered around them that you would have a home, that visual harmony and elegance promoted happiness. I fooled myself into thinking that House Beautiful should be subtitled Life Wonderful. I don’t know why I thought this, …I should have learn my lesson years ago, when we went to the grandest wedding imaginable and the couple divorce within a few years, or when we went to dinner at an apartment on Fifth Avenue that was so beautiful and bright it was hard to know where to look and our host and hostess spent the entire evening sniping at each other.”
 
An excerpt on mothering…
 
“How better to circumvent the power of the new women of our generation than with all this nonsense that made it seem that every moment was a teachable moment- and every teachable moment missed a measure of a lousy mom…. It turned out that this was not such a good thing. It wasn’t only that baking for the bake sale, meeting with the teachers, calling the other mothers about the sleepover, and scoping out the summer camp made women of all sorts crazy, turning stress from an occasional noun into an omnipresent verb. A lot of this over sight was not particularly good for kids, either. If your mother has been micromanaging your homework since you were six, it’s hard to feel any pride of ownership when you do well. You can’t learn from mistakes and disappointments if your childhood is engineered so there aren’t any.” “ I mark my years of parenting by the people who stepped in and forced me to abandon my inclination to meddle, micromanage, and coddle, beginning with my children’s father, who sat me down and told me in year two that I was going to create a little monster if I continued to act as though “no” and “I don’t love you” were synonymous.”…
 
Anna Quindlen last chapter “To Be Continued” is a beautiful ending to a life that is certainly not ending, or at least not in this moment in time. She gently eases the reader in to tender experiences, which creates a sense of beauty instead of fear or frustration. My mother would say the secret to beauty and happiness in old age is “growing old gracefully” which Anna Quindlen has mastered like a pro; of the likes of Roger Federer.
 
Anna Quindlin’s memoir is a stunning reminder for any women that the best part of growing older is their beautiful insightful perspective that life is NOT greener on the other side of the fence, far from it. The radiant beauty from their side of the fence is magnificently OK. In fact as our physical eyesight becomes a little less clear our emotional eyesight becomes more perceptive and sharp.  It brings a sense of peace and serenity to only those who have grown old gracefully!  
 
So with that said…
 
Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS today with a strong recommendation, to pick up Anna Quindlen’s book, “Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake.” And enjoy for she speaks our language, (“experience cut with failure, triumph, and tedium.”) You will not be sorry you did!
 
Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 
Kindest regards,
 
Asklotta
 
President and CEO
 
CBCorp
Image

4 Responses to ““Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake” A Memoir by Anna Quindlen”

  1. Liz July 16, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    I can’t wait to read it!!!!!!
    XOXO Liz

    • asklotta July 16, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      Liz, You will love it. A fast read and you will go back to your favorite sections over and over again!
      xoxo

  2. tenacious04 July 16, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    Love, love, love “A Short Guide to a Happy Life”. Now I look forward to This! Many thanks for the intro 🙂

    • asklotta July 16, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      You will love it!
      Tomorrow’s post is about how I just keep going to my favorite pages…xoxo

Leave a Reply

