“My Weekend Adventure!”

15 Jun
Dear Readers,
 
I am here! New York University (Continuing Ed) “Creative Writing for Beginners.” class has finally begun…Teacher Christy Walker 

Ms. Walker has started her class with “free flow writing” the equivalent to stretching before a workout. She has asked us to just start writing about anything, just to warm up. It will not be shared with the class. 

The class consist of (almost) ALL females except for one male….  if you are a male interested in meeting pretty young women, enroll in a creative writing course, I’m just saying!
 
Sorry I digressed…can’t help myself when it comes to matchmaking!
 
OK back to class;
 
The visual, desks in semi-circle, handout placed on top of all the desks:

Handout says…

 
“There is in each of us an upwelling spring of life, energy, love, whatever you like to call it. If a course is not cut for it, it turns the ground around it into a swamp.” – Mark Rutherford

“ What is upwelling in you?  Writing is an excellent way to cut a course for it. Stories, articles, poems, songs, and screenplays – to name only a few forms – are reliable containers for the energies arising from within you.”
 
 
Writing suggestions on white board at the front of the room, written in green marker:

“What are you doing here today?”
“Why this commitment?”
“Where am I at – or not at- with my writing?”
“Your intent for today? For your writing in general?”
“Any fears?”
 
 
I will answer the first question/suggestion – I am here today for my love of writing. I am here for my love to communicate with others in a more creative fashion. I am here today for my love of trying something new, for the pure joy of a new challenge and to discover many beautiful new treasures in the unknown. I am here today to listen to others! I’m here to learn from others and I am here today to carry their stories with me.  For I truly believe people come in to your life for a reason and it is up to us to figure it out.

Our next exercise is to write for five minutes and stop…

The class size is 11. No one older then 30 years old, except for me! Earlier we had to go around the room and say our name and why we were taking this class.  Here is just a sampling of some of my classmates; first up, a beautiful 19-year-old girl that was in class because she just changed her major. Two students a man (the one and only) and a woman were both in class to seek a more creative side to their existence (both work on Wall Street.)  The 27-year-old man said, “My only writing these days is emails.” A 30-year-old lawyer, who wore her long blonde hair pulled back in a ponytail was in class for fun! A 27 year old engineer; graduated six years ago and had always enjoyed writing in school and wanted to get back in to it (I was thinking…only six years, you never left it.) And a very soft-spoken girl from China that graduated from New York University just one year ago. She struggled(only a little)speaking English and wanted to become more relaxed with her thoughts in English. Another student (two years out of college) presently has been bouncing from a couple different jobs (hasn’t found her niche as of yet) and wanted to figure out her possible next job/career. 

I found everyone extremely interesting, extremely intelligent and extremely talented.  Their kindness and willingness to share their stories and thoughts was beyond fantastic! Ms. Walker mentioned a few times…”this doesn’t always happen in a class.” The class certainly fulfilled my expectations and then some!

Asklotta and staff will MIND YOUR BUSINESS and ask you to nudge yourself out of your comfort level just a little today and place yourself in a new situation…it is amazing what will happen!

Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!

Kindest regards,

Asklotta

President and CEO

CBCorp 
Image



 
 
 

2 Responses to ““My Weekend Adventure!””

  1. t June 15, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Wise advise for when C finally comes to her senses and bounces me to the curb – thanks!

Leave a Reply

