Winning!

3 Apr

 

Dear Readers,
My mother always said…“Be happy for what you have and not miserable for what you don’t have” 
 
I stood in line last Friday (a short one), bought my lottery tickets and wished everyone good luck as I departed…When I returned home, I started to read the article on Yahoo News (see below, highlights) about all the problems people won, as well as money. 
 
 
The Terribly Sad True Stories of Lotto Winners, Yahoo News
 
Poverty, after excessive gambling. Evelyn Adams won the New Jersey lottery twice, in 1985 and 1986, raking in $5.4 million. “Today the money is all gone and Adams lives in a trailer,” 
   
Being looked down on for the winnings. Steve Granger won $900,000 in the West Virginia Lottery in September of 2005, and, after paying the taxes, “put most of it away for his and his wife’s retirement,” writes Oren Dorell in USA Today. But along with everyone knowing his business, everyone asking for investments, and everyone grabbing at him because he was suddenly considered “lucky,” there are the lotto snobs, too. He once heard “someone say in an ugly tone, ‘There go those lottery people,’ as he and his wife passed by.” Ouch.
 
A descent into crime (and bankruptcy, too). In 1998, William “Bud” Post III won $16.2 million in the Pennsylvania lottery, only to later wish it had never happened. That’s because his brother hired a hit man to try to kill him and his sixth wife (and was arrested for doing so), other relatives made him invest in businesses that never paid off, a landlady made him give her a third of his winnings, and Post “spent time in jail for firing a gun over the head of a bill collector.” He declared bankruptcy and, in 2006, at the age of, 66, “died of respiratory failure… at a Pittsburgh area hospital,” writes Patricia Sullivan in The Washington Post. 
 
Ending up murdered. Abraham Shakespeare won the $31 million jackpot in Florida in 2006. He disappeared in 2009, having spent most of his fortune; his body was found in early 2010 under a concrete slab. John Campanelli writes in The Plain Dealer, 
 
 
Asklotta and staff began to think as WE MIND YOUR BUSINESS, had I made a big mistake buying Lottery tickets? Was I actually putting my corporation and myself in harms way? Did I hand over my cash in exchange for a chance to win millions of dollars and millions of troubles! Maybe the act of buying a Lottery ticket was an unconscious decision to purposely throw myself in that horrible smelly sinkhole of misery (discontentment) “the grass is always greener” “I would be happier, if only…,” disease…. and then it hit me, maybe the meaning of those sad Lottery stories was really all about what I wrote in yesterday’s blog titled, “Aggressive Parents…Ruin All The Run!…how could anyone (children or adults) expect something good to come from something unearned? Self respect and self confidence can not be given, bought or won, but feelings of unworthiness, shame and disappointment certainly can!…and hence, creating the perfect environment for self sabotaging behavior as those sad stories of Lottery winners so clearly defined.

My friend Mrs. R who happens to be one of the happiest and kindest people I know, came up with the most wonderful idea..she said, “since 540 million is more money then anyone really needs in one life time”  I chirped in… for many life times..she continued, there should be more drawings for the same jackpot, enabling more winners. For example; If we capped a win at 5 million dollars, based on a total jackpot of 500 million, theoretically there could be 100 winners!  Oh Mrs. R, I can always count on you for peaceful and kind resolutions! I wish there were more people like you!….But, Mrs. R raised an interesting question/thought…would we agree to win less, to increase our odds of winning something at all?


Well it is safe to assume my numbers were not drawn on Friday and I didn’t win…or maybe in the end, I did…you decide! 


Again, it has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!


Kindest regards,


Asklotta


President and CEO


CBCorp

Image
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

