The Fountain of Youth!

21 Mar

 

Hardison celebrated the big 1-0-1 last September by going paragliding over the skies of her hometown of Ogden, Utah, and, as a result, she now owns theGuinness World Record for “Oldest Female to Paraglide Tandem.”

Hardison, who set the record in front of a group of spectators that included her children, grandchildren, great grandchildren and even great-great grandchildren, admitted that part of the reason she took to the skies was out of competition with her 75-year-old son.

“I don’t want my son to do anything I can’t do, so I decided to go have fun like he did,” Hardison told KSL-TV right after the record-breaking flight, which was done with the help of her instructor, Kevin Hintze.


I had to laugh out loud from this morning’s article from HuffPost…I think we just discovered the fountain of youth. It doesn’t come in a bottle, lotion or injection…It is a life long fun competition with your children! It is a spirit for fun and laughter! My mother always said, her children kept her young (an older mother) and now I understand what she meant! 


I must confess there is a little of that in me, don’t want to miss out on any of the fun! When my youngest daughter said she was going to jump from a plane as well as one of her friends, I said me too! and off we went. The plane was about the size of a small car, only one seat, which of course was reserved for the pilot …after signing tons of paper work “in case of death, can not be held liable” putting on a required one piece jumping suit… I, along with the pilot who sat in his reserved seat, plus this incredible nice man, that would be strapping himself to my back, got in to a very tiny plane. I sat on the floor with knees drawn in, the noise of the plane was loud, I could only hear the final instructions that were being said to me, not only for my safety but for the well being of everyone on that plane. We kept climbing higher and higher and when we arrived at 10,000 feet I got the nod, no turning back, a that point, only one way down. The engine was turned off, door opened, the incredibly nice man tighten the straps that attached him to me… we were one and at 10,000 feet above ground, there was no one, I wanted to be one with, except him! I hooked my thumbs under my shoulder straps as earlier instructed, put my right foot on the bar right outside the plane and just leaned back in to clouds.   As I fell, I did only one thing I wasn’t suppose to do, I started to breath through my mouth which is impossible.  For about 10 seconds (seemed so much longer) I gasped for air while feeling the cold air against my face. There really isn’t any sensation of falling like at Disney World on one of those thrill seeking rides.  At 5,000 feet the incredible nice man opened up our parachute and he manipulated the parachute as if they were sails on a boat, around 2,000 feet I could start to see ground underneath us…back and forth he kept pulling on the parachute to ensure a landing in our designated area and not in the next county…. I had a ball…and have to say….

Children hear me now….Our competition is officially on…and by the way, I want a carrot cake for my 110 birthday!
 
 
It has been my pleasure to tell you what to do and what NOT to do!
 

Asklotta

President and CEO

CBCorp




Leave a Reply

