For 600 Dollars….And The Airlines!

19 Mar
Dear Readers……I flew to Oklahoma City this past weekend and it became crystal clear to me that I unwittingly uncovered a treasure trove of privileges after spending 600 dollars with the airlines…
 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to pay more money to bring clothes with me on my trip

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to undress (shoes, sweaters, scarfs, belts etc) while standing in line, get a body scan and get groped in public from neck to ankle

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege of having a 5-hour trip turn in to a 8-hour trip, not weather related

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to have Delta Airlines delay my flight 70 minutes ensuring I would miss my connecting flight out of Memphis

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to stand in line to rebook my flight (from a very polite Delta representative!) who did rebooked me… on another airlines
 
  
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to walk to the other end of the airport to my new airlines
 
 
For 600 dollars I had the privilege to stand in another line now at United Airlines, to get a seat assignment (from a very polite United representative!)

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege for United Airlines to delay my new flight out of Cleveland, now rebooked and rerouted through Houston

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege (once on board, zone 6) to pay additional money to watch T.V from a tiny screen 3 inches from my nose

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to pay additional money if I was actually hungry on flight due to all the delays

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to pay additional money to access the internet from my computer, that I had to pull out of my carry-on, place in a separate bin before going through security, in order to comply with security regulations

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to be assigned the middle seat, giving up my aisle seat from my original flight

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to have to wait for the beverage cart to be removed from the aisle so I could use the lavatory

 
For 600 dollars, I got to stare at the front of the plane (clear access to lavatory) to a drawn curtain, forbidding back of planepassengers to use front of plane’s lavatory even when back lavatory is blocked by beverage cart…..
United Airlines printed paper napkins…..Planes Change, Values don’t. Your priorities will always be ours.”…hmmm I guess it was my fault; I must not have been clear with my priorities!….please read on….


  
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege for the man in front of me to recline his seat in to my lap, so he could be more comfortable for 2 ½ hours

 
For 600 hundred dollars, I had the privilege to arrive Houston… gate 16, terminal E, needing to get to gate 25, terminal A for my connecting departing flight to OK City

  
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege to have my departing flight in Houston delayed an hour, after break neck speed getting to designated gate and terminal

 
For 600 dollars, I had the privilege, (once on board to OK City), to listen to a woman across the aisle cough up a lung

  
I shutter to think, if I had paid 800 dollars, the privileges I would have received….probably would have been seated outside on the wing, after being delayed a week and charged for the air I used……but at the end of the day, if the plane took off and landed safely, I would have said….“thank you, great flight!”
 
 

One Response to “For 600 Dollars….And The Airlines!”

  1. kerry incavo March 21, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    when were you re-routed through my city?? am enjoying your advice!

Leave a Reply

